Rated 2/5 based on 10455 customer reviews

Polytechnic University of the Philippines

Address: Anonas, Santa Mesa, Maynila, 1016 Kalakhang Maynila
Phone: 63 (02) 335 1777

Polytechnic University of the Philippines has made a name when it comes to the best universities in the country. This is why many students prefer to get their diploma in this school. Why not when it has produced successful individuals in the society.

The Polytechnic University of the Philippines also known as PUP is a coeducational research state university founded on October 19, 1904. It was first named Manila Business School. It is governed by Republic Act Number 8292 or the Higher Educational Modernization Act of 1997. The school’s implementing rules and regulations are contained in Memorandum Circular No. 4 series of 1997 of the Commission on Higher Education.

The PUP System is the Philippines’ largest with more than 60,000 students enrolled where at least 35,000 are enrolled in its Manila campus alone.

PUP operates three campuses in Manila and 21 satellite branches and campuses or extensions all over the country.

PUP is organized into 14 colleges and an institute spread across 21 campuses all over the Philippines conferring bachelors, masters and doctoral degrees. Some degrees offered by PUP are recognized as Centers of Development.


The PUP is governed by the Board of Regents composed of the University of the President, Chairperson of the Commission on Higher Education, Chairpersons of the Committees of Higher Education of the Senate and House of Representative. The board consists of 12 members and is considered the highest decision-making body of the university.

Colleges, Schools and Institute

PUP has 61 undergraduate programs offered in all of its 14 colleges. The PUP Institute of Technology is offering 6 ladderized programs or three years of study. Other colleges are the College of Accountancy and Finance, College of Architecture and Fine Arts, College of Arts and Letters, College of Business Administration, College of Communication, College of Computer and Information Sciences, College of Education, College of Engineering, College of Human Kinectics, College of Law, College of Political Science and Public Administration, College of Science, College of Social Sciences and Development, College of Tourism, Hospitalitu and Transportation Management. It also has an Institute of Technology and Laboratory High School.